Entry one: Katie Thompson B.A. (Hons.)

Please note, this blog was originally posted on June 27th, but due to problems with Tumblr, I’ve relocated to WordPress. Thanks.

My name is Katie Thompson. I’m 22 years old and today I found out the result of my degree.

I finished my course in Bachelor of Arts Spanish and Linguistics at the University of York on June 7th 2012. It was a modest course; while the University itself had been running German/French and Linguistics courses for some time before I joined, 2008 was the first year for Spanish as a course and as a result there were only seven of us on the course. Not a problem really, but of course, over the subsequent four years it’s fair to say we were subject to some experimenting.

Twenty days after handing in my final assignment I have now confirmed what I knew all along: I shall be graduating with a 2:2 degree, something which I have completely mixed feelings about. On the one hand, I feel completely numb: I was expecting this; I had calculated my degree result previously and it equated to 57% give or take. On the other hand, there was a tiny tiny glimmer of hope within me that the university might be so kind as to bump my grade up a little. But alas.

The purpose of this blog, then, is to guide others who find themselves in my position. This could be now, or a year from now when current second years find out their degree result- I want to prove to people that contrary to popular belief, there is light at the end of the tunnel if you don’t get a 2:1. Let me add, that is not to say that I am demeaning anyone with a 2:1 let alone a 1st- obviously they have worked extremely hard and they are due their credit. My role is simply to create this blog and update it over the next year or so with the next steps of my life, so that others who fear they might not make the grade can take some comfort.

Of course, this is entirely experimental- I cannot predict the future; for all I know, my future may be doomed. Hence this is as much an experiment as it is a consolation for those in the same boat as me. At present I have no idea what I want to do with my life; I’m moving out of my current house in York on Monday and then am completely lost. It’s quite scary- on the one hand, I am completely bound, on the other, I am completely free.

In summary then, I would ask all students to please follow this blog and look to it for advice, in order to avoid the feeling that those with a 2:2 deserve to wallow in despair. After all, there is light at the end of the tunnel.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

